

COMSATS University Islamabad

Registrar Secretariat, Principal Seat

No. CUI-Reg/Notif-235/20/275

January 29, 2020

NOTIFICATION

Subject:

<u>Declaration of Election Results – Academic Council (Category: 05 Professors and 05 University Techers)</u>

In pursuance of the Election of Teachers for Membership of Senate, Syndicate, Academic Council and Representation Committee for Appointment to the Senate of COMSATS University Islamabad (CUI) Statute, 2019 and in continuation of the election of University Teachers held on Monday the 27th January 2020, election results of Academic Council under the categories of 5 Professors and 05 University Teachers (01 Associate Professor, 02 Assistant Professors and 02 Lecturers) are hereby declared and notified as under:

Category: 05 Professors

Candidates: 08

Casted Votes in all CUI, Campuses: <u>188 Votes</u> Invalid Ballot Paper/s in all CUI Campuses: <u>01</u>

Names of Successful Candidates:

- (1) Prof Dr. Muhammad Abid (Electoral Roll No. Wah-Pro-1) Department of Mechanical Engineering, CUI, Wah Campus
- (2) Prof. Dr. Laiq Khan (Electoral Roll No. Abt-Pro-5) Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, CUI, Abbottabad Campus
- (3) Prof Dr. Anila Asif (Electoral Roll No. Lhr-Pro-3) Interdisciplinary Research Centre in Biomedical Materials (IRCBM), CUI, Lahore Campus
- (4) Prof. Dr. M. Arshad Rafiq (Electoral Roll No. Isb-Pro-2) Department of Biosciences, CUI, Islamabad Campus
- (5) Prof. Dr. Nazir Ahmad Zafar (Electoral Roll No. Swl-Pro-1) Department of Computer Science, CUI, Sahiwal Campus

Page T of 3

Category: 05 University Teachers

(01 Associate Professor)

Candidates: 02

Casted Votes in all CUI, Campuses: <u>99 Votes</u> Invalid Ballot Paper/s in all CUI Campuses: 03

Name of Successful Candidate:

(1) Dr. Ijaz Ali (Electoral Roll No. Isb-As.P-10) Associate Professor, Department of Biosciences, CUI, Islamabad Campus

Category: 05 University Teachers (02 Assistant Professors)

Candidates: 09

Casted Votes in all CUI, Campuses: <u>1684 Votes</u> Invalid Ballot Paper/s in all CUI Campuses: <u>11</u>

Names of Successful Candidates:

- (1) Dr. Muhammad Yar Khan (Electoral Roll No. Wah-AP-46)
 Assistant Professor, Department of Management Sciences,
 CUI, Wah Campus
- (2) Dr. Shujaat Ali Khan (Electoral Roll No. Atk-AP-48)
 Assistant Professor, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering,
 CUI, Attock Campus

<u>Category: 05 University Teachers</u> (02 Lecturers)

Candidates: 08

Casted Votes in all CUI, Campuses: <u>1081 Votes</u> Invalid Ballot Paper/s in all CUI Campuses: Nil

Names of Successful Candidates:

- (1) Mr. Muhammad Mateen Yaqoob (Electoral Roll No. Abt-Lec-29)
 Lecturer, Department of Computer Science,
 CUI, Abbottabad Campus
- (2) Dr. Muhammad Tauqeer Anwar (Electoral Roll No. Swl-Lec-34) Lecturer, Department of Mechanical Engineering, CUI, Sahiwal Campus

Page 2 of 3

- 2. Cumulative Result Sheets of Academic Council, CUI in all above categories are enclosed at Annex-1, Annex-2, Annex-3 and Annex-4 respectively, for reference.
- 3. As per Clause 27 of Election Statutes 2019, the election of any candidate can only be challenged by means of an election petition, which shall clearly mention the nature of the objection and should be submitted to the Registrar within 03 days of the declaration of the election result.
- 4. This issues with the approval of Competent Authority of CUI.

(Rana Tahir Mahmood Khan) Senior Manager (C&L)

Distribution:

- All above Successful Candidates:
- All Faculty Members of CUI Campuses;
- All Directors / Incharge of CUI, Campuses;
- Head, Academics, CUI, Islamabad Campus.

Copy to:

- All Principal Officers of CUI;
- All Deans of CUI;
- All Additional / Deputy Registrar (Admin) at CUI, Campuses (With a request to disseminate among their respective faculty members);
- SO to the Rector, CUI.

Annexure: I

Cumulative Result Sheet - Academic Council (05 Professors)

								Winners:	1. Prof. Dr. M. Abid (Wah) 2. Prof. Dr. Laiq Khan (ABT) 3. Prof. Dr. Anila Asif (LHE) 4. Prof. Dr. M. Arshad Rafiq (ISB)	
Campus	Prof. Dr. Aftab Khan/Isb-Pro- 15 (Mathamatics)	Prof. Dr. Anila Asif/Lhr-Pro-3 (IRCBM)	Prof. Dr. Laiq Khan/Abt-Pro- 5 (E&CE)	Prof. Dr. Muhammad Abid/Wah-Pro-1 (Mech. Eng)	Prof. Dr. M. Arshad Rafiq/Isb- Pro-2 (Biosciences)	Prof. Dr Nazir Ahmad Zafar/SWL-Pro-1 (CS)	Prof. Dr. Waqas Masood/ Isb-Pro-20 (Physics)	Prof. Dr. Zulfiqar Habib/Lhr- Pro-5 (CS)	Invalid Ballot Paper/s	Total Votes
Islamabad	12	15	11	16	11	11	8	12	0	96
Abbotabad	6	4	8	7	6	3	5	8	0	47
Lahore	2	4	3	4	4	3	2	2	0	24
Wah	1	0	2	2	2	2	0	1	1	11
Attock										o
Sahiwal	0	2	2	2	1	2	0	1	0	10
Vehari									0	0
Total Votes Secured	21	25	26	31	24	21	15	24	1	188
Percentage Secured	11.17	13.30	13.83	16.49	12.77	11.17	7.98	12.77	0.53	100.00



Annexure: II

Cumulative Result Sheet - Academic Council (01 Associate Professor)

			Winner:	Dr. Ijaz Ali (ISB)
Campus	Dr. Ijaz Ali/Isb-As.P-10 (Biosciences)	Dr. Nadia Nawaz/Wah-As.P-7 (E&CE)	Invalid Ballot Paper/s	Total Votes
Islamabad	20	9	1	30
Abbotabad	17	6	0	23
Lahore	20	8	1	29
Wah	2	11	1	14
Attock				0
Sahiwal	1	0	0	1
Vehari	1	1	0	2
Total Votes Secured	61	35	3	99
Percentage Secured	61.62	35.35	3.03	100.00



Annexure: III

Cumulative Result Sheet - Academic Council (02 Assistant Professors)

									Winners:	1. Dr. M. Yar Khan (Wah) 2. Dr. Shujaat Ali Khan (ATK)	
Campus	Dr. Faisal Nawaz/Atk- AP-55 (MS)	Dr. Iftikhar Ahmed/Lhr-AP-138 (Energy Research Centre)	Mr. Imran Khan/Isb- AP-276 (MS)	Dr. Khurram Shabih Zaidi/Lhr-AP-56 (E&CE)	Muhammad Wasim Sajid/SWL-AP-31 (Biosciences)	Dr. Muhammad Yar Khan/Wah-AP-46 (MS)	Dr. Saeed Ahmad Asad/Isb-AP-357 (CCRD)	Dr. Shujaat Ali Khan /Atk-AP-48 (E&CE)	Mr. Sifat Shah/Abt-AP- 80 (E&CE)	Invalid Ballot Paper/s	Total Vote
Islamabad	30	1	11	1	26	233	16	225	1	6	550
Abbotabad	4	1	0	2	1	137	7	140	15	2	309
Lahore	13	13	3	46	13	157	2	144	3	1	395
Wah	7	0	1	2	3	58	1	40	0	1	113
Attock	28	0	0	0	8	21	1	39	1	0	98
Sahiwal	4	1	0	1	15	36	1	37	1	1	97
Vehari	4	0	0	0	4	54	5	55	0	0	122
Total Votes Secured	90	16	15	52	70	696	33	680	21	11	1684
Percentage Secured	5.34	0.95	0.89	3.09	4.16	41.33	1.96	40.38	1.25	0.65	100.00



Cumulative Result Sheet - Academic Council (02 Lecturers)

Winners:

1. Muhammad Mateen Yaqoob (ABT)

2. Dr. Muhammad Taugeer Anwar (SWL)

Campus	Ms. Aziza Munir/Isb- Lec-165 (MS)	Mr. Farman Ullah/VEH-Lec-27 (CS)	Mr. Khiyam Iftikhar/Isb-Lec-98 (E&CE)	Ms. Mamoona Tasadduq/Lhr-Lec-26 (CS)	Muhammad Mateen Yaqoob/Abt-Lec-29 (CS)	Dr. Muhammad Tauqeer Anwar/SWL Lec-34 (Mechanical Eng)	Mr. Shahid Mehmood/Isb-Lec- 117 (E&CE)	Ms. Shazia Bilal/VIR- Lec-8 (MS)	Invalid Ballot Paper/s	Grand Total		
Islamabad	17	11	19	1	91	91	41	13	0	284		
Abbotabad	3	1	1	1	98	91	5	3	0	203		
Lahore	2	4	3	27	73	72	22	0	0	203		
Wah	13	14	0	0	38	39	2	1	0	107		
Attock	11	13	1	0	30	29	2	0	0	86		
Sahiwal	1	2	0	0	46	49	2	0	0	100		
Vehari	2	3	0	1	47	45	0	0	0	98		
Total Votes Secured	49	48	24	30	423	416	74	17	0	1081		
Percentage Secured	4.53	4.44	2.22	2.78	39.13	38.48	6.85	1.57	0.00	100.00		

